Q

Can I delete this file without facing the Blue Screen of Death?

Yes, it should be perfectly safe to do so. A .DMP file is generated whenever Windows 2000 has a STOP condition -- know more affectionately as a BSOD, or Blue Screen of Death. The .DMP file contains a copy of the system's memory at the time of the crash, which makes it useful for debugging if you're a programmer. If you're not a programmer, you can delete the files without flinching.
Is it safe to delete a .DMP file? I am not sure what it is. I have Windows 2000 Pro.
This was last published in August 2002

Dig Deeper on Windows Operating System Management

PRO+

Content

Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchCloudComputing

SearchExchange

SearchSQLServer

SearchWinIT

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchVirtualDesktop

Close