Q

'Giving' ownership to users after file consolidation

I recently consolidated about 100 GB of user files from four NT4 servers to one large Win2k server with the intent of turning on disk quotas. When I did so, most of the folders that should have reported near or beyond quota didn't. I found that file ownership changed to administrator during the file move. Users access the files through a hidden share. So they don't have access to the next directory higher and can't 'take' ownership, and Microsoft says I can't 'give' ownership. Is there a utility that will help me do this?
There's a way to get around this, but it's a bit sneaky. Promote each of the users to administrator, log on locally with the account(s) in question, take ownership of the files and folders and then demote the users once you're done. Be sure to retire the accounts from local logon privileges when you're finished.
This was last published in July 2003

Dig Deeper on Microsoft Active Directory Design and Administration

PRO+

Content

Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchCloudComputing

SearchExchange

SearchSQLServer

SearchWinIT

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchVirtualDesktop

Close