Q

My Documents for Guest accounts on Windows XP Pro

I have a laptop running Windows XP Pro. This laptop is used as a loaner and several people have been logging onto it using the Guest account. I have had a couple of people complain that when saving a document to the default "My Documents" after they log-out and back ina again later, the document is gone (I have also test this and experienced it) I beleive this is actually a "feature" of the Guest account. Is this true? Where can I find more information on this?
I tried this out myself, and -- you're right! It appears that the Guest account's profile is similar to a Mandatory Profile. It only exists for the life of the session. Since the My Documents is part of the profile, it gets wiped out when users log off. Moral of the story: Have Guests save their data to a place it can be retrieved -- like a common network share, USB disk-on-key, or floppy disk. My friend James Conrad calls this the "Unwelcome Guest" feature.
This was last published in January 2004

Dig Deeper on Microsoft Group Policy Management

PRO+

Content

Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchCloudComputing

SearchExchange

SearchSQLServer

SearchWinIT

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchVirtualDesktop

Close