Retrieving an overwritten profile
I recently set up an NT4 domain for a company. They were working on a
"workgroup" scenario and the workstations are Win 2000 Pro. I successfully added them to the
domain. I also transferred the Local profiles to the domain profile. However, on one machine I did
the reverse. I copied the "new" profile to the old profile and now the user lost his desktop
settings and his documents! Is there any way to get his profiles reversed again? (It seems to have
overwritten all of the files).
I wish I had good news for you, but it looks pretty bleak. If the user had all his or her
documents in My Documents, they would have been trashed by the new profile.
The good news is that the new profile would not have contained any of the user's personal files,
so you should be able to recovery the deleted files. Try Undelete v2 from Executive Software,
www.executivesoftware.com. Or send the drive out to a professional data retrieval service.
This was first published in April 2001