Q

What happens when you remove NetBEUI protocol?

NetBEUI is a protocol that appears on many of my PC's. I'd like to understand what happens when I remove it (as I do). Also, what causes it to return?
NetBEUI is a legacy network protocol from the early days of Microsoft networking. If all of your networked PCs have another protocol (like TCP/IP) in common, then you can safely remove NetBEUI to reduce traffic on your LAN. As long as you remove it properly, the NetBEUI protocol should not return unless you manually re-install it.
This was last published in January 2004

Dig Deeper on Windows Operating System Management

PRO+

Content

Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchCloudComputing

SearchExchange

SearchSQLServer

SearchWinIT

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchVirtualDesktop

Close