This tip was submitted to the SearchWin2000.com tip exchange by member Mark Mills. Please let other users know how useful it is by rating it below.
While changing over to WinXP on some of my desktops, I noticed that the system would show a disconnected share if the share wasn't used recently (for example, in the past few hours). Apparently, the default time is 15 minutes before a server will drop the share from a user.
You can change the hex value of the registry key to 24 hours by changing the value to 5A0 as follows:
Binary value= autodisconnect
Change default to "1140" in decimal form (24 hrs * 60 minutes) or to "5A0" in hex.
For more information, see Microsoft KB
This was first published in July 2004