Tip

Moving shares from one drive to another

This procedure is for moving Windows NT shares from one drive to another drive in the same computer. Before executing the procedure below, make sure to backup your registry keys -- in particular the one that handles the shares located in: HKEY_LOCALMACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesLanmanserverShares.

I was running out of disk space on one of my NT servers. In this case, it was my accounting server. I had four partitions based on a RAID0 configuration. I needed to move three shares from my G: partition to my E: partition, but I needed to keep the NTFS and share level permissions once I moved them.

First I got a hold of the "scopy.exe" utility from the Microsoft Windows NT Server Resource Kit Supplement 4. I copied the scopy.exe utility to the accounting server under the %SystemRoot%System32 folder.

Second, I created the same folder name for each share on G: drive. I created three directories: Travel, Forms and Reports on my E: partition. I then started the copy procedure from G: partition to E: partition. A couple of things to remember: make sure that no one is connected to the shares you will need to copy. I strongly suggest to do this after business hours.

Proceed by using the scopy utility to copy the share's contents.

Syntax:
Scopy.exe G:Travel E:Travel /o /a /s

/o will copy owner information

/a will copy file attributes

/s will copy any sub directories

Do the same

    Requires Free Membership to View

for each share folder you need to copy to the new partition.

After you copy all share directories and its contents, launch Server Manager for Domains. You can take a quick shortcut by running the following command line parameter: srvmgr yourservername.

Click the "Computer" menu, and then click "Shared Directories." Locate the share directories you are in the process of moving, and then click the Properties button.

Change the path field from the current share path to the new one: from G:Travel to E:Travel. Click OK. You will get a warning message that tells you that the share is already in use and if you want to stop it to create this new one. Say Yes to this dialog box (don't worry, all your share level permissions will be kept intact).

This process saves a lot of time.


This was first published in September 2001

There are Comments. Add yours.

 
TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

Disclaimer: Our Tips Exchange is a forum for you to share technical advice and expertise with your peers and to learn from other enterprise IT professionals. TechTarget provides the infrastructure to facilitate this sharing of information. However, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or validity of the material submitted. You agree that your use of the Ask The Expert services and your reliance on any questions, answers, information or other materials received through this Web site is at your own risk.