When a user denies the Everyone group from C: drive

If a user selects Deny for the Everyone group, it can cause a lock out for not only them, but the admin as well.

I had this happen a couple of times...

A user looks at the security settings for the "C:" folder and sees the Everyone group, then selects Deny. When the user restarts, all the user gets is a black screen. Not even the admin can log in.

To fix this, take the hard drive out of the computer and put it into another computer. Boot up and select the appropriate permissions back the the drive.


This was first published in October 2001

Dig deeper on Microsoft Active Directory Design and Administration

Pro+

Features

Enjoy the benefits of Pro+ membership, learn more and join.

0 comments

Oldest 

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to:

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchServerVirtualization

SearchCloudComputing

SearchExchange

SearchSQLServer

SearchWinIT

SearchEnterpriseDesktop

SearchVirtualDesktop

Close