Problem solve Get help with specific problems with your technologies, process and projects.

MCSE 4.0 needs to become a MCSE 2000

I am currently a MCSE 4.0 but Microsoft is forcing that certification to become a MCSE 2000 by the end of this year. I need to know what test I need to become a MCSE 2000 from a MCSE 4. Please list all the tests I need to take for this certification. I am not interested in the accelerated test because I would be cramming and probably not able to retain the knowledge if I did.

You must pass the following exams to obtain a current MCSE for Windows 2000
1. 70-210 Windows 2000 Professional
2. 70-215 Windows 2000 Server
3. 70-216 Windows 2000 Network Infrastructure
4. 70-217 Windows 2000 Directory Services Infrastructure

You must also pass one of the following four exams as well
1. 70-219 Designing Windows 2000 Active Directory
2. 70-220 Designing Windows 2000 Security
3. 70-221 Designing Windows 2000 Network Infrastructure
4. 70-226 Designing Highly Available Web Solutions

Finally, you must pass 2 additional valid electives as documented on the Microsoft Web site at ? http://www.microsoft.com/trainingandservices/default.asp?PageID=mcp&SubSite=cert/mcse&PageCall=nttracks&AnnMenu=mcse&PageExt=.txt#elective

That is a total of seven exams in all, unless one or both of the electives you took for your NT 4.0 MCSE remain valid; if so, you reduce the total number of exams you must take by the number of electives that remain valid. Thus, you will probably end up taking between five and seven exams to maintain your MCSE status.

Dig Deeper on Windows administrator jobs and training

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.